The Fullness of the Gospel of Jesus Christ

Growing up in the LDS church I often heard the phrase “the fullness of the Gospel” but I didn’t really understand what that meant. As I went on my mission, and attended the Institute of Religion during my undergraduate studies, I came to associate this phrase with the restoration. The idea was that all the religions in the world contained some truth, but only through revelation, and through the restoration was the Gospel available in its fullness or its complete form. I always assumed that  the restoration was synonymous with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, but I was steadily confronted with Mormons from several of the many other branches of the Latter-Day Saint movement. I also studied all the other major religions of the world. I found many profound truths, which were carried to my heart by the spirit of God. I took the words of a latter-Day prophet: Brigham young as my motto: ““Mormonism,” so-called, embraces every principle pertaining to life and salvation, for time and eternity. No matter who has it. If the infidel has got truth it belongs to “Mormonism.” The truth and sound doctrine possessed by the sectarian world, and they have a great deal, all belong to this Church. As for their morality, many of them are, morally, just as good as we are. All that is good, lovely, and praiseworthy belongs to this Church and Kingdom. “Mormonism” includes all truth. There is no truth but what belongs to the Gospel. It is life, eternal life; it is bliss; it is the fulness of all things in the Gods and in the eternities of the Gods (Brigham Young, DBY, p.3).

In an effort to live up to this inspired charge I have started this blog in order to create a forum where all aspects of the truth may be freely debated, tested and proven. I accept all the words of all the Holy prophets since the world began, and in this great corpus of gospel truth I see further infinite possibilities and truths implied and extrapolated from these teachings. I accept this as an open invitation and challenge for us all to seek more and more truth for all eternity. This quest will never be finished, it will never be complete, because this search for truth is nothing less than eternal progression.  I hope you and I will be edified together in this search.

I invite you to make suggestions of ANY topic in the comments section of any post, and I will try to seek the truth to answer these questions. I may not know the answer, but I know a way to find the answer to any question: From God, and his oracles. First we will study the issue out. we will debate it, examine it, then we will seek the answer from the spirit. Once this is obtained we will seek a second witness of the truth: in the scriptures, the words of prophets living and dead, through the keys of the priesthood, and logic, reason and new revelation. In this way I hope we can become united in the truth, and see eye to eye.

This is the most profound of miracles. there may be worldly ways to move mountains, and to heal the sick, but to change the heart, to enlighten the mind, is more miraculous than all of these. It is nothing less than this miracle I am seeking in my life, and I hope you will be a part of it!

Leave a Reply

